Zootopia

With all the election craziness going on, I needed a change up in the movies I had been watching and decided on the recent Disney animated film, Zootopia.  Everyone I knew told me I had to see this, even my mom – there’s one scene in this movie that she LOVES (see numbers 22 and 23). So I figured I’d watch this movie this week to take my mind off everything for a bit.

For this week’s drink, I wanted to do an adult twist on a childhood / fall favorite – apple cider. I normally mix apple cider with a cinnamon whiskey for the extra kick, but all I had on hand was Jameson. It was super delicious and such a great fall drink for adults. You can barely taste the alcohol! Dangerous and delicious. The best part – you can have this drink warm or cold! Bless whiskey for going with so many things.

Cozied up in my apartment and trying not to check the electoral map every five seconds, I finally watched Zootopia.

  1. Such an epic beginning – very reminiscent of the beginning of Emperor’s New Groove.
  2. OMG IT’S A PLAY THAT’S SO CUTE (and also very dark)
  3. The little cougar on the side playing all the music is me.
  4. Little Judy’s optimism is everything to me. Everyone needs to be as confident and happy as she is.
  5. OH SHE’S FIESTY TOO YAS QUEEN
  6. Did Gideon just cut her face?!?!?!
  7. Yes Judy!!! You did it!!!
  8. This movie is so cute I love it.
  9. Oh my gosh the train and all its little doors for all the different animals!
    ZOOTOPIA
    @MTA take note. More doors = less people hating each other during rush hour
  10. No she’s so eager and gets parking duty? Not a real case? I feel so bad for her
  11. Ok pretty sure that fox is like a con artist or something
  12. Aaaannnd I was right. But paw popsicles are so cute
  13. Oh my god. Pawpsicles. I should’ve seen that  one coming. #PunFail
  14. Ugh her parents make me feel so sad for her. But I also get where they’re coming from.
  15. Does that mean I’m an adult if I can sympathize with the parents?
  16. Oh my god Little Rodentia is so cute
  17. Is she really getting in trouble for getting the bad guy?
  18. Judy is SO SASSY and she has a pen that records criminals in the shape of a carrot I love it!!
  19. Ok real talk the little fox with the hella deep voice is hilarious
    zootopia-finnick
    Finnick is low key much cooler than I am
  20. The hippie yak with all the flies. Gross but so funny
  21. IT’S A NUDIST PLACE BUT THEY’RE JUST NORMAL ANIMALS THAT’S BRILLIANT
  22. OMG THE SLOTH SCENE
  23. For reference, this is my mom’s favorite scene in any movie ever. I’ve seen the sloths DMV scene at least 4 times. It’s perfect
  24. Judy at the DMV is literally me dealing with people at work
  25. Ugh claw marks all over a car and his wallet?
  26. I love how this animated movie is actually pretty hardcore with like murder mystery / kidnapping / intimidation stuff
  27. Ok I get why they would name a polar bear / mob boss Mr Big but all I can think of is Mr Big from Sex and the City. 
  28. OH MY GOD MR BIG IS A MOLE NOT A POLAR BEAR I AM SO DEAD
  29. This is so Godfather I’m here for it
  30. Ok so now Otterton is to blame for his own disappearance?
  31. Is this like a disease thing that turns the “evolved” animals into primal animals?
  32. I feel like “fox” is a metaphor for something in the real world. Like some kind of racism or exclusion of some kind of group.
  33. I do love how Nick stood up for Judy though that was very sweet of him
  34. Oh yeah. Fox is definitely a discriminatory term
  35. People play with my hair just like Nick is playing with the Assistant Mayor’s hair.
  36. “You’re gonna start a howl” is one of the funniest phrases in this movie
  37. I wonder what’s happening to the animals?
  38. oH NO THE MAYOR IS INVOLVED!!!!!
  39. Clawhouser is my favorite / the best character in this movie and I will fight you about that
  40. Please tell me Nick is going to have a change of heart and becomes Judy’s partner that would be the BEST
  41. UGH SHE WENT AND MESSED IT ALL UP
  42. Ok this is definitely a movie where the animals and attacks and things are a metaphor for racism and division in the country
  43. Very deep for a kids’ movie
  44. Nonono Judy don’t cry let me hug you!!!
  45. YES ICE HIM TO GET INFO
    zootopia-mr-big
    Do you think he’d leave a human head in someone’s bed?
  46. These flowers remind me of people selling drugs like this is some Breaking Bad type stuff
  47. Oh it’s definitely Breaking Bad references. The blue liquid in the trailer did it.
  48. AND A WALTER AND JESSE REFERENCE!!! Excellent Easter Egg for the adults watching this
  49. OH NO DON’T TELL ME THAT THE NEW MAYOR IS ACTUALLY THE MASTERMIND
  50. OH MY GOD
  51. SHE TOTALLY IS
  52. NO DID SHE SHOOT NICK WITH THE THING
  53. NO WAIT they totally switched it out for a blueberry because they knew this would happen
  54. YES THEY USED THE PEN AGAINST HER TOO!!!!
  55. Wow I love the message of acceptance in this movie it’s so wonderful and so necessary
  56. YES THE SLOTH IS THE SPEEDING DRIVER!!!!
  57. ….and a low-key Shakira concert at the end of this? I’ll roll with it.

FINAL THOUGHTS: Pretty deep for a kid’s movie! On the surface, I absolutely loved the message that you can do anything you set your mind to, even when people say you can’t. They added some wonderful Easter Eggs for adults watching this movie and had some hilarious scenes that can make all generations laugh for different reasons. A little deeper, the message of non-discrimination and anti-bullying is pretty intense but good for kids to hear. They did a fantastic job at making this movie, and while it’s not the best Disney animated film ever (shoutout to Monsters, Inc.), it was a great film.

zootopia

Leave a Reply

