When Harry Met Sally

I have no excuse for not seeing this movie earlier in life. Just absolutely zero excuses. It’s one of my mom’s all-time favorites and I’ve heard how incredible it was (mostly from her, but others have mentioned it as well). And as I was traveling this past weekend, I figured it would be a good time to watch it. Also, if you don’t love any rom-com that Meg Ryan is in, you’re just wrong.

I was on a bus from Boston to NYC while watching this, so unfortunately I didn’t have anything to drink other than water. It’s debatable whether or not alcohol would’ve made the bus smell worse or better, but I was feeling a bit car-sick anyway, so water made my stomach feel better. I’ll be back to imbibing next week.

So semi-comfortably curled up on a bumpy bus home from Boston, I finally watched the classic rom-com When Harry Met Sally.

  1. Does this movie start with how older couples met?
  2. I WASNT EMOTIONALLY PREPARED FOR THAT.
  3. Oh 70’s hair. How glad I am that I never had to live through you.

    sally70s
    Please explain to me how her hair still looks good after being in a car for so long???
  4. Who just carries grapes around though…?
  5. I love Harry. The sarcasm is impeccable.
  6. This blossoming friendship is everything to me.
  7. LOL SALLY DO NOT LOUDLY TALK ABOUT TOUR SEX LIFE IN A DINER
  8. Especially with a guy you’ve just met who’s dating your friend.
  9. THEY DONT MAKE SUNDAY UNDERWEAR “BECAUSE OF GOD” I AM CACKLING.
  10. I’ve heard that men and women can’t be friends quote so many times and every time I think it’s hilarious and semi-accurate.
  11. Always down for any movie that includes beautiful shots of New York City.
  12. WHAT?! MORE PEOPLE TELLING THEIR LOVE STORIES????
  13. I’m going to cry at these stories.
  14. Ok they totally recognize each other.
  15. I don’t like Sally’s boyfriend he’s definitely sleazy.
  16. YES HARRY CREEPING IN THE BACK ROW.

    airplane
    Excuse me ma’am do you have a moment to discuss our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ?
  17. The white mans overbite is my signature dance move. I’m not even lying.
  18. Sally is so seemingly annoyed with him but I’m sure that she thinks he’s the best.
  19. Harry and Sally are living parallel lives and I love it.
  20. Wait I love the pause in the divorce conversation to do the wave.
  21. Oh they’re FINALLY getting coffee! Bless.
  22. The obituary / realty section combo is BRILLIANT and I should do that.
  23. ((Apartment hunting in NYC is hard))
  24. FORDHAM ROAD REFERENCE FOR THE WIN!!!!
  25. Watching Casablanca on the phone together is the cutest thing.
  26. This whole accent museum scene is hilarious
  27. I won’t lie Harry and Sally’s friendship reminds me a lot of me and a friend of mine.
  28. Oh no this is the scene.
  29. The scene in this movie that everyone talks about.
  30. I AM HYSTERICALLY LAUGHING ON THIS BUS
  31. “I’ll have what she’s having” CLASSIC.
  32. (In case you haven’t seen it, do yourself a favor and WATCH IT NOW) ((but use headphones)) (((you have been warned)))
  33. Is this the moment they realize they have feelings for each other.
  34. Oh no.
  35. Awww their little peck for New Year’s is so cute / awkward.
  36. “I knew the way you know about a good melon.”
  37. That is my new favorite phrase.
  38. Prediction – Sally’s friend and Harry’s friend are going to get married.
  39. This is the epitome of all horrible double dates.
  40. CALLED IT
  41. Oh no running into the ex and the ex’s new beau.
  42. Ugh the fight and immediate make up I love it.
  43. Oh nooo they’re both in relationships but are obviously in love this CAN’T go well.
  44. They’re still each other’s person I love that so much.
  45. Sidenote how can these people afford these massive apartments this is unreal.
  46. OH NO THEY DID THE THING!!!!!
  47. THEY DID THE THING!!!!!
  48. WHAT’S GONNA HAPPEN NOW!?!?!?!
  49. This is simultaneously making me feel all the feels and stressing me out beyond belief.
  50. This phone convo scene is brilliantly done I absolutely love the overlapping conversations.
  51. Oh no now it’s awkward between them.
  52. I don’t understand why they’re being so standoffish.
  53. If they were such good friends they should just talk about it.
  54. Oh now they’re playing with my emotions and having Sally do things without Harry to show they’re better together.
  55. Fine.
  56. Be like that directors.
  57. THEY’RE SO IN LOVE IT HURTS.
  58. Is he going to run through the city to tell her he loves her??
  59. SHUT UP.
  60. OMG HE IS!!!!
  61. I AM SOBBING THATS THE BEST WAY TO TELL SOMEONE YOU LOVE THEM
  62. Oh WOW the whole love story interview thing makes so much sense.
  63. Oh boy I am so single.

FINAL THOUGHTS: Mom, I’m so sorry I never listened to you when you told me to watch this. It was equal parts hilarious, charming, heartbreaking, and lovely. Quite possibly the best rom-com I have ever seen (this includes, of course, all of Meg Ryan’s extensive rom-com work).

whms-final

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Paul S says:

    Nice assessment of one of Nora Ephron’s finest. Billy Crystal is at his best here and most everyone loves Meg Ryan’s charm. Add to the sweetness their foils–Fisher and Kirby to balance it out. It spoke about love to a generation. You are in a different one, and I’m glad it spoke to you, too. I guess that’s why they call it a classic!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Michelle Corr says:

      Thanks so much! I’m a huge fan of Nora Ephron’s work, so I’m not surprised at how much I loved this. I just absolutely love the wit and charm that both actors bring to their roles.

      Like

Leave a Reply

