The Rite

I hate scary movies. Hate hate hate hate hate.

Well, let me qualify that. I hate modern scary movies. They’re too gore heavy. I can’t resist the original scary movies though – things like Halloween, The Poltergeist, Silence of the Lambs, Carrie, The Exorcist, even more recent ones like The Sixth Sense. But it’s October, Halloween is right around the corner, and my roommate loves scary movies more than anything, so we decided to get into the spooky mindset of the month and watch The Rite (2011) starring Anthony Hopkins.

My roommate found an amazing boozy drink for us to calm our nerves before this movie, aptly named The Exorcist. It’s 1 1/2 shots of tequila, 3/4 oz Blue Curacao liqueur, and 3/4 oz lime juice. It was such a good drink and we’re definitely going to make it again soon!

With drink in hand and cozy blanket ready to protect me from the scary things, we turned off all the lights and started The Rite.

  1. Immediate quote about evil from Pope John Paul II makes me feel both safe and the most scared I’ve ever been
  2. Devil tattoo on a dead body? Gimmicky but also terrifying somehow.
  3. ***Chugs mixed drink to hopefully dull the fear about to come***
  4. I have no idea what drives people to become morticians but I have immense respect for them. I could never do that.
  5. A girl gets hit by a car and asks Michael to bless her after he resigns?? I’m sensing a change of heart about to happen.
  6. Father Superior: You were a mortician, right? Logical next step – EXORCISM!
  7. The last one is paraphrased but still, that’s quite a leap.
  8. This movie might end up scaring the crap out of me but at least I get to see beautiful footage of Rome.
  9. I wonder if they actually have huge exorcist seminars in real life like they do in this film.
  10. I’m not too sure how I feel about Michael seriously doubting his religion. It makes sense for his character arc, but I just am not sure where it’ll lead by the end of the film.
  11. Although I guess it’s just portraying him as a human. Which isn’t a bad thing in the slightest.
  12. Ohhh decrepit seminary / home with stray cats this is getting SPOOKY
  13. Anthony Hopkins will forever be my favorite.
  14. His eyes are so piercing and perfect for a horror film but also make you feel comforted at the same time.
  15. The pre-devil interview that’s happening with the pregnant woman is extremely terrifying even though nothing has happened yet.
  16. WAIT THIS WOMAN HAS THE SAME EYE ON HER CHARM BRACELET THAT THE DEVIL TATTOO WOMAN HADthe-rite
  17. I really like how Anthony Hopkins portrays priests as real people and not just ultra-theological beings.
  18. McDonald’s – the beacon of comfort in a city known for its food and (apparently) swarmed with possessed beings
  19. All the lights go out in the lecture hall – super spoooooky
  20. DID MICHAEL TAKE HER BRACELET?!
  21. Oh it ended up in his pocket?? I’m pretty spooked I won’t lie
  22. I wonder why she doesn’t want to take the bracelet back right away.
  23. Oh. She didn’t want to take it back because she immEDIATELY BECAME POSSESSED AGAIN AND STARTED SPEAKING IN ENGLISH TO HIM OH MY GOD WHAT
  24. The most horrifying part about this movie is that I truly believe in devil possession and that these type of incidents are real so seeing them “Hollywood-ized” is just unreal.
  25. Oh no I can’t deal with a possessed child.
  26. EVIL FROG. ALSO A CHARM ON THAT BRACELET. IT’S A THEMATIC THING.
  27. Now he’s pulling the frog out of Anthony Hopkin’s bag oh my  GOD
  28. PREDICTION: Anthony Hopkins is actually possessed himself but the devil hasn’t manifested himself yet.
  29. Oh WOW Michael’s doubt is coming into play when attempting to defeat the devil in Rosaria
  30. Wait never mind he still doesn’t believe
  31. Roaches? Or locusts? Is there a Biblical Egyptian Plague thing happening here?
  32. After this movie I’m going to research more about what the Catholic Church says about exorcisms. Do the victims, if they die while still possessed, go to hell? Or are they saved if they were trying to work with the priests?
  33. Ok this dream sequence with the morgue and old hand and the bracelet is actually the scariest part of this movie so far
  34. WHY IS MICHAEL’S ROOM COVERED IN THE DEVIL FROGS THIS IS NOT OK
  35. Michael’s dad died but he just talked to him??? I DO NOT LIKE THIS ONE BIT
  36. THE BRACELET IS BACK OH MY GOD I AM VERY NOT OK
  37. DO NOT FOLLOW WHAT YOU THINK IS YOUR FATHER MICHAEL THAT IS NOT YOUR FATHER
  38. Oh. Black horse with red eyes. Great. NOT DEVILISH AT ALL. **sarcasm**
  39. Why is Anthony Hopkins shaking and barefoot????
  40. HE’S POSSESSED
  41. I KNEW IT
  42. I CALLED THIS
  43. HE COUGHED UP A NAIL I KNEW HE WOULD BE POSSESSED
  44. NOW ALL THE CROSSES AND CRUCIFIXES ARE UPSIDE DOWN?!
  45. NO
  46. NONONONONONONONONONONO
  47. “You’ve always followed me, Michael” NO THIS IS NOT OK I AM NOT OK
  48. I’m horrified right now but honestly this character switch for Anthony Hopkins is BRILLIANT and reminds me why he’s such an incredible actor
  49. He’s repeating the same words Michael’s father did??!??!?!?! WHAT DOES THAT MEAN???!!!!?!
  50. I HATE EVERYTHING THAT’S HAPPENING RIGHT NOW
  51. NO MICHAEL DO NOT BELIEVE IN THE DEVIL YOU IDIOT
  52. MICHAEL
  53. STOP
  54. STOP WHAT YOU’RE DOING
  55. WAIT KEEP DOING THAT KEEP BELIEVING
  56. MICHAEL YOU GOT THIS
  57. MICHAEL GOT THE DEMON TO SAY HIS NAME
  58. This movie took a lovely turn
  59. Ohhh a letter from Italy!
  60. OH it’s Angeline’s article!!
  61. Michael became a priest after all that!
  62. OH SNAP THIS IS A REAL STORY?!?!?!
  63. I HAD NO IDEA!
  64. Here’s the real story in case you want to read about it!

FINAL THOUGHTS: I’ll be real – I thought I was going to be more scared than I actually was. But this definitely spooked me a lot and made me seriously think about real-life exorcisms and what people really go through. I’m definitely researching this topic more after this movie. Also, Anthony Hopkins is and forever will be my favorite.

(Also, I know I normally use more pictures, but I didn’t feel the need to post pictures of possessed people. I’ll resume with my normal amount of pictures and gifs next week)

s11

Leave a Reply

