Moonrise Kingdom

No, I had never seen the classic Wes Anderson Moonrise Kingdom until today. A lot of friends told me I would love it, so I decided to give it a shot. I figured it would be a nice break from the heavier movies I had watched previously.

To drink, I made a Tequila Sunrise (get it? Tequila Sunrise to watch Moonrise Kingdom?) I like to think I’m clever sometimes. This drink is GREAT – definitely more of a summery choice, but honestly, is there ever a bad time to drink tequila? All this drink requires is one (1) shot tequila, Orange Juice, Grenadine. I first stirred the OJ with the tequila, added ice, and then slowly poured around 1.5 shots of grenadine in. The slower you pour, the more will sink to the bottom for that ombre “sunrise” effect.

With my tequila drink in hand at 2pm on a Wednesday, here are my thoughts about Wes Anderson’s Moonrise Kingdom!

  1. Full disclosure this is the first Wes Anderson film I’ve ever seen so I’m extremely excited.
  2. The panorama camera shots are my favorite. I love the fluidity of it so much.
  3. OH HEY IT’S MY BUD BILL MURRAY!! This, much like Wall Street, has an incredible cast, featuring my main man from my first blog!
  4. I love how each shot in this so far (and we’re only about two minutes in) can be both a film scene and a beautiful photograph
  5. Tangent – I love Alexandre Desplat who did the score for this film. His compositions are iconic and absolutely devastating when they have to be. Definitely my favorite modern composer.
  6. Oh DRAMATIC IRONY about a STORM!! I’m here for it, Narrator Santa

    screen-shot-2016-10-12-at-5-19-03-pm
    All I want for Christmas is more of this movie
  7. I love how the panorama camera technique seems like it’ll be used throughout the film.
  8. Also is that the guy from Fight Club?
  9. It’s totally the guy from Fight Club.

    screen-shot-2016-10-12-at-5-21-00-pm
    The first rule of Khaki Scouts is: Do not talk about Khaki Scouts.
  10. The content of this movie seems so silly and absurdist I’ve been giggling this whole time!
  11. The kid escaped his tent Shawshank style and I want to be his friend.
  12. This movie seems to have the John Hughes ideals of adults and parents in that they are ineffective and almost incompetent and that the kids are rebellious
  13. The scout master’s log reminds me of the “Twin Peaks” tape recordings which is a wonderful aspect of that show to allude to in this film.
  14. Ok but who decided a bunch of preteen boys should be allowed to have a gun?
  15. A group of tiny humans sitting in a dark stairwell playing the recorder is a fairly accurate version of what my hell would look like.
  16. Suzie and Sam’s whole back story is one of the cutest things.
  17. The music in this movie is so whimsical and makes the film seem so much more fun.
  18. I LOVE how the level of badassery in this movie (so far) is stealing library books. My kind of badass.
  19. The megaphone is KILLING ME I love it.
  20. Dude. Bruce Willis. Stop stalking your booty call.
  21. OH WOW WATERCOLOR NUDES WHY AM I LAUGHING SO HARD?!
  22. This letter reading sequence is so good. It’s letting us get to know the characters and moves the plot way forward in a meaningful way.
  23. Quaint. Quaint is the best word to describe this movie.
  24. OH NO THE OTHER BOY SCOUTS CAUGHT SAM AND SUZIE!!
  25. What was that scissors / arrow scene? I’m so confused.
  26. NOT THE DOG ANYONE BUT THE DOG
  27. NARRATOR SANTA IS BACK!
  28. This whole movie seems like one huge allusion to other movies. He’s now painting her like Jack and Rose in Titanic.
  29. DID HE JUST PIERCE HER EARS WITH BEETLE EARRINGS WOW I’M NOT OK
  30. I’ve seen this scene! The beach underwear dancing!
  31. Omg Bill Murray just lifting the tent up is so funny and I don’t know why.mk2
  32. Wow my heart is breaking.
  33. The kids are talking about love like adults and it’s sad and lovely all at the same time.
  34. Who are all those children leaving the cupboard under the stairs?!
  35. OH WAIT THAT’S SO CUTE
  36. I like the parallels drawn between the love the kids have and the lack of love the adults have
  37. Suzie has turned into Wendy and Sam and all of the other scouts are the Lost Boys!
  38. DID HE JUST GET STRUCK BY LIGHTING!? WHAT?! AND HE LIVED!??!?!
  39. This Khaki Scout rescue scene is so epic and ridiculous
  40. Why do I love this absurd movie so much

FINAL THOUGHS: This movie was so fun and whimsical, but it had a lot of heart to it too, which made it even more endearing. I also love Wes Anderson’s style, and I can’t wait to watch more of his movies!

moonrise-kingdom

Leave a Reply

